Home of the year

Now’s your chance to get your entry in for Home of the Year 2020

Article by Home Magazine

Is your design a winner? Don’t miss your chance to get your entry in for Home of the Year 2020

Loading the player...

Next year marks 25 years of Home of the Year, and we’re very excited to call for entries to what has become New Zealand’s most prestigious – and lucrative – prize for residential architecture. Since 1996, the magazine has judged the country’s finest new homes – everything from expansive beach houses to brilliant little inner-city dwellings. The award is blind to budget or scale: we are looking for unique intersections between a client’s needs and an architect’s vision.

Entries close: 5pm, Monday 9 December, 2019

The award is staged in association with our long-term sponsor Altherm Window Systems. As well as our Supreme award, we’ll be judging entries in four sub-categories – Small, City, Retreat, and Multi-Unit. And for the second year running, there will also be a wildcard award, brought to you by Dulux.

The 2020 awards will be judged by the multi-award-winning Melbourne architects Rachel Nolan and Patrick Kennedy, of Kennedy Nolan, and Jack McKinney. Since starting their practice in 1999, Kennedy Nolan has become known for their thoughtful, richly detailed homes layered with subtle references and memories. And, as part of the Nightingale initiative, they’ve recently started work on a large apartment building in central Melbourne. McKinney, meanwhile, won our Home of the Year 2019 for ‘Diagrid’ house, a daring, raw design built from concrete.

Loading the player...

Home experts are just a click away