Design News

Is your house a winner? Home of the Year 2019 entries are now open

Article by Home Magazine

Known as New Zealand’s most prestigious prize for residential architecture, don’t miss your chance to get your entry in for Home of the Year 2019

Is your house a winner? Home of the Year 2019 entries are now open

Home of the Year is New Zealand’s most prestigious – and lucrative – prize for New Zealand residential architecture. Since 1996, the magazine has judged the finest new homes – everything from expansive beach houses to brilliant little inner-city dwellings. The award is blind to budget or scale: we are looking for unique intersections between a client’s needs and an architect’s vision.


We’re now calling for entries for Home of the Year 2019, staged in association with our long-term sponsor Altherm Window Systems. As well as our Supreme award, we’ll be judging entries in four sub-categories – Small, City, Retreat, and Multi-Unit.

The 2019 awards will be judged by Paraguayan architect Gloria Cabral, along with Lance and Nicola Herbst. Cabral is one of South America’s brightest young architects, known for her striking, almost monumental, work in brick and concrete.

She was recently awarded the Moira Gemmill Prize for Emerging Architecture at the Women in Architecture Awards; in 2016 she won the Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale of Architecture. The Herbsts, meanwhile, are three-time winners of Home of the Year – including 2018, for their exquisite ‘Kawakawa’ house at North Piha, west Auckland.

Entries close: 5pm, Monday 10 December, 2018

Loading the player...

Home experts are just a click away